31

31
So year 30 has come and gone. The best way to describe it was like looking out the window on a speeding train, hardly able to focus on just one thing and everything just seems blurry. There was tons of music in a number of different areas of the country and of course a newborn son. Those are really the things I find myself remembering. I got to visit a handful of states from the east coast to the west, needless to say I just feel like 30 was a year of immense busyness. Which is kind of frightening because it seems as though year 31 will be more of that as well.

I find myself in a steady state of motion with bouts of motion sickness and trying to catch my balance. It is almost laughable now that I felt I was busy before having a second child. It now seems like it is a success if I remember to put on pants before running out of the house. But in the midst of a busy ‘season’ God has been quietly (and sometimes more loudly) reminding me of Psalm 46-

1 God is our refuge and strength,
a very present help in etrouble.
2 Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way,
though the mountains be moved into gthe heart of the sea,
3 though hits waters roar and foam,
though the mountains tremble at its swelling. Selah
4 There is a river whose streams make glad jthe city of God,
the holy habitation of the Most High.
5 God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved;
God will help her when morning dawns.
6 The nations rage, the kingdoms totter;
he nutters his voice, the earth melts.
7 The Lord of hosts is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress. Selah
8 Come, behold the works of the Lord,
how he has brought desolations on the earth.
9 He makes wars cease to the end of the earth;
he breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
the burns the chariots with fire.
10 “Be still, and know that I am God.
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!”
11 The Lord of hosts is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Verse 10 is what I constantly quote to myself to be reminded to chill out and remember what God’s calling is for my life. In one single verse it sums up everything that I need to do. Be still, know who God is, and know He will be exalted in every nook and cranny in all the earth. That second part is my calling. To help exalt God among the nations/in all the earth. I am called to lead believers into the presence of God, to help usher His people into His very throne room. I can not do that effectively if I do not first be still and remember who God is. He is a God who saves, heals, loves, longs for relationship, forgives, hates lukewarm, and chases me relentlessly. The author of this Psalm is alluding to a quote from Moses in Exodus 14 when he is addressing the people of Israel telling them to fear not and to see God’s salvation in the midst of being pursued by Pharaoh’s army, just before the parting of the red sea.

So as another year of life is before me I am grateful. I am grateful for a God that pursues me even when I am lukewarm, even when I sell Him out, even when I take advantage of His love, forgiveness and relationship. So here’s to being a 30 something!

Leave a Reply

